Dr. Hwang is Professor and Vice Chair in the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and holds the Pearl T. and Samuel J. Kimura Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology. After graduating first in his medical school class at UCSF at age 20, he underwent residency training in internal medicine and ophthalmology at UCSF. He undertook fellowships in the cornea, refractive surgery, and uveitis at the Doheny Eye Institute as a Heed Fellow, and he was later named one of 3 national recipients of the Heed-Knapp Fellowship. Dr Hwang joined the UCSF medical school faculty and is currently Professor and Vice Chair, Director of the Cornea Service, and Director of the Refractive Surgery Service. At UCSF, he has served as Medical Director of Ophthalmology, Director of the UCSF Eye Bank, and Vice Chair of Surgical Services. He has been elected President of the Ocular Microbiology and Immunology Group and Executive Director of the Max Fine Cornea Society. He has won the Hogan Award, the Asbury Award, the UCSF Teaching Award in Ophthalmology, the AAO Honor Award, and the AAO Senior Honor Award. He has taught over 75 clinical and postdoctoral fellows, including current professors of ophthalmology, divisional chiefs, and chairs of ophthalmology departments worldwide. He has delivered 13 named lectures and keynote addresses, published over 100 articles and scientific abstracts, and co-authored 2 texts in cornea and refractive surgery. Named one of the “Best Doctors in America” for more than 20 consecutive years, Dr. Hwang’s research interests include ophthalmic antimicrobial therapy and drug resistance, corneal endothelial cell transplantation and gene transfer, and clinical development of new techniques and instrumentation in corneal, cataract, and refractive surgery.